Close

Not a member yet? Register now and get started.

lock and key

Sign in to your account.

Account Login

Forgot your password?

Local Manukau City Attractions

For a comprehensive list of upcoming events and activities, click on

www.events.nz.com

Nestled between two breathtaking harbours, the sparkling Waitemata and the brooding Manukau City, Auckland is the commercial hub of New Zealand. Greater Auckland is a diverse metropolitan area with 48 volcanoes, 50 Islands, 22 regional parks and more than 50 vineyards that make it different from any other city in the world. Auckland is the largest Polynesian city in the world and Manukau City has world acclaim for its dynamic multi-cultural population and its vibrant cultural diversity epitomised by the Polynesian Markets held at Otara and Mangere weekly.

MANUKAU FACTS

17% of the population is Maori with 22 Marae
27% of the population are Pacific Islanders
New Zealand’s third largest and fastest growing city
Over 160 ethnic groups
40% of the population is under 25
300 kilometres of coastline
90 Parks and Reserves
Gateway to New Zealand through Auckland International Airport

MANUKAU ATTRACTIONS

Botany Town Centre www.amp-shoppingcentres.com
Westfield Shopping Centre www.westfield.com/manukau
Dress Smart www.dress-smart.co.nz
Craft World www.craftworld.co.nz

PLACES TO VISIT IN MANUKAU

Tropical Butterfly House www.butterflycreed.co.nz
Auckland Museum www.aucklandmuseum.com
Rainbows End www.rainbowsend.co.nz
Kelly Tarltons Underwater World www.kellytarltons.co.nz
Treasure Island Adventure Golf www.adventuregolf.co.nz
Stardome Observatory www.stardome.org.nz
Eden Gardens www.edengarden.co.nz
Sky Tower www.skycityauckland.co.nz
Victoria Park Market www.victoria-park-market.co.nz
Garden Tours www.gardens.org.nz
NZ Maritime Museum www.nzmaritime.org
Soifua Village Polynesia www.soifua.com

MORE ATTRACTIONS

OTUATAUA STONEFIELDS HISTORIC RESERVE
Only minutes from the Airport, this sacred site created by volcanic eruptions is an untouched natural archaeological Cultural and natural historic treasure of international significance.

HOWICK HISTORICAL VILLAGE
Visit our colonial past where history comes alive

MANGERE MOUNTAIN
Only minutes from the Airport this dormant volcano is surrounded by numerous Marae

AUCKLAND REGIONAL BOTANIC GARDENS
65 hectares of plant collections with over 10,000 different plants. Home of the famous Ellerslie Flower Show which is held annually in November.

OTARA AND MANGERE MARKETS
Held every Saturday. Taste the colour, vibrancy and excitement of our wide array of cultures. Exotic food, artwork and clothing to give you a taste of 21st century New Zealand life.

TELSTRA CLEAR PACIFIC EVENTS CENTRE
Opened 2005 the Centre will showcase the rich cultural diversity of Manukau. The Centre represents a new age in Events Centres combining functionality, state of the art architecture and multi cultural themes. Sport events and entertainment are held in the 3000 seat Woolf Fisher arena multicultural art displayed in the foyers.

HALF DAY TRIP SUGGESTIONS

CLEVEDON VALLEY
Clevedon Town is the entre to one of New Zealands hidden secrets. Clevedon is 15 minutes drive away and is a must-stop centre for local crafts and boutique wines. Visit Clevedon Gallery www.clevedongallery.com which is proud to showcase the very best of Clevedon with a wide range of wines from the eight boutique wineries in the Clevedon Valley. Discover Clevedons history at early colonial Churches, the McNicol Homestead and Museum plus some of New Zealands best private country gardens.

SEABIRD COAST
Situated only 30 minutes drive away and past Clevedon Valley is the Seabird Coast, so named because of the vast number of seabirds who rest and feed in the foreshore and wetland area. Visit the Miranda Shorebird Centre. 85 different species feed and wade close to Kawakawa Bay.
What better way than to relax after a lengthy drive at the Miranda Hot Springs, the largest hot Mineral pool in the Southern Hemisphere.

FRANKLIN COUNTY
Country charm and hospitality handy to the city.
Just 35 minutes drive southwest of Manukau this district showcases New Zealands rural lifestyle, green rolling farmland, dramatic limestone cliffs, windswept black sand beaches and peaceful coastal bays.
Visit Waiuku, a historic town on the Sunset Coast. Numerous museums and the Glenbrook Vintage Railway are in stark contrast to the rugged west coast beaches. Gateway to the wild and beautiful Awhitu peninsula and Regional Park hosting the Orua Bay Bird Sanctuary. .